Spine Procedures

Anatomy of the spine

The spine consists of 33 vertebrae, including the following:

  • 7 cervical (neck)

  • 12 thoracic (upper back)

  • 5 lumbar (lower back)

  • 5 sacral* (sacrum--located within the pelvis)

  • 4 coccygeal* (coccyx--located within the pelvis)

* By adulthood, the five sacral vertebrae fuse to form one bone, and the four coccygeal vertebrae fuse to form one bone.

These vertebrae function to stabilize the spine and protect the spinal cord. In general, the higher in the spinal column the injury occurs, the more dysfunction a person will have.

Injury to the vertebrae does not always mean the spinal cord has been damaged. Likewise, damage to the spinal cord itself can occur without fractures or dislocations of the vertebrae.



  • Cervical Fusion
  • MI Discectomy
  • Spinal Fusion
  • Cervical Discectomy
  • Thoracic Discectomy